Jump to content

  •  

Photo

Radio Problem


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 mywifezoe

mywifezoe

    New Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Model: rx300
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 10 December 2005 - 05:09 PM

my wife's rx300's radio appears to have died. there is no sound what-so-ever. does anybody know of a solution? ...or does anyone know if i'll be able to replace the factory unit with an aftermarket one?

thanks!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

 

#2 litzdog911

litzdog911

    Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Model: RX400h
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 11 December 2005 - 05:21 PM

Have you ruled out the "easy" stuff .... like a blown fuse? I gather that the radio is getting power, just no audio?

#3 mywifezoe

mywifezoe

    New Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Model: rx300
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 11 December 2005 - 08:45 PM

good call, but...

yes, the radio is getting power (the screen comes on, the antenna goes up, etc.) there simply isn't any sound being emitted by the speakers (not even a crackle or pop). i'm guessing the radio's amplifier is fried. i'm frightened to thin k what a dealership would charge. i've actually been looking for a replacement on ebay.

thanks!

#4 LexInfo

LexInfo

    Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Model: Gx470
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 14 December 2005 - 08:50 PM

good call, but...

yes, the radio is getting power (the screen comes on, the antenna goes up, etc.) there simply isn't any sound being emitted by the speakers (not even a crackle or pop). i'm guessing the radio's amplifier is fried. i'm frightened to thin k what a dealership would charge. i've actually been looking for a replacement on ebay.

thanks!

View Post

do you have a aftermarket installed? like a phone kit or something.....

#5 AmFam

AmFam

    Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Model: RX 300
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 14 December 2005 - 09:12 PM

my wife's rx300's radio appears to have died. there is no sound what-so-ever. does anybody know of a solution? ...or does anyone know if i'll be able to replace the factory unit with an aftermarket one?

thanks!

View Post


I just did a search of over 1800 yards, (my family owns a salvage yard and were connected via the Internet) to see what is available. Before I got to the price page, I found these options...

CD changer, used w/Pioneer amp
CD changer, used w/Nakamichi amp
amp, Pioneer
amp, Nakamichi (7 spkrs)
receiver, w/o navigation system
receiver, w/navigation system

Just to give you a few examples, here is what I found when I went further.

Pioneer Amp 212 in stock, $75 to $300 dollars. Many at $125 ish.
Nakamichi Amp, 37 in stock $150 to $275 ish (7 Speaker System)
Receiver w/o Nav system 612 in stock. $100 to $300 on average. Some listed at $700
Receiver with Nav system 24 in stock. $350 to $900. Many listed at $450

If you find you need or want any of these items I'll be glad to help you out...

#6 dragnfly

dragnfly

    New Club Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Model: RX300
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 21 December 2006 - 12:28 PM

good call, but...

yes, the radio is getting power (the screen comes on, the antenna goes up, etc.) there simply isn't any sound being emitted by the speakers (not even a crackle or pop). i'm guessing the radio's amplifier is fried. i'm frightened to thin k what a dealership would charge. i've actually been looking for a replacement on ebay.

thanks!

View Post

do you have a aftermarket installed? like a phone kit or something.....



I just experienced the same thing! HELP!

My lexus rx300 plays fine. I was listening to my ipod using a tape deck adapter. When I noticed that I couldn't adjust the volume on the lexus dashboard... only via my ipod. I could adjust both from the ipod and the lexus volume control before.

Then 5 mins later, static, and all sound was gone. I couldn't hear anything via the lexus radio, tape deck, or cd changer even if volume was maxed. But if i max the volume and play my ipod via the tape deck and max the ipod's volume, i could hear soft music coming from the ipod.

Now i can't even mute the volume on the lexus nor adjust the bass, treble, etc.

The dealer says I need to change the entire radio and that the radio is the culprit. And they are charging $650. WTF? for a radio? $475 + tax and $150 for labor.

Email me dragnflyjunk@gmail.com

Thanks!

#7 Magent_mx

Magent_mx

    New Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Model: RX 300
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 08 February 2007 - 07:10 PM

I've gone thru the same issue, and it's painful... no sound, everything working ok, antenna, radio presets, cd changer, BUT NO SOUND!!!

Dealers told me that the stereo had to be exchanged (after a $115 diagnosis) and the cost of replacing it would be 650 to 700!

...that is of course if ONLY the stereo was damaged, any other damaged part would need to be replaced also.

After digging around I took the Rx to an electronics guru to see if he could solve the problem.

Good thing is he DID!! for under 80 bucks!!

At his explanation, the thing was this:

The factory Amp (Located hidden under the second row seating) has two outputs, one for bass and the other for voice, those components (like everything in our cars) is linked to the stereo (so that would explain the lack of response when one tries to change the bass and treble settings)

He removed the amp and changed the electronic output for voice component, soldering on the new one in the process, I don't recall the chip number but he said it was fairly common and available in most places.

So before you try anything rash (and expensive) try taking your car to an electronic shop to test the amp, I would say with much certainty that if your car has the same symptoms your problem is the same as mine

So changing the amp voice output solved this for me.
Hope this helps

#8 hammer7

hammer7

    New Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Model: rx-300
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 17 March 2007 - 09:50 PM

I've gone thru the same issue, and it's painful... no sound, everything working ok, antenna, radio presets, cd changer, BUT NO SOUND!!!


This just happened to me today!

Just like what happened to dragnfly. I was listening to my radio. I went to turn it up when I noticed that I couldn't adjust the volume on the lexus dashboard, either up or down. I shut off the sound system and turned it back on, but all sound had disappeared.

Everything else seems to work perfectly. On the radio, I can change from FM to AM and switch stations. I can see that the changes are occurring on the info screen. On my CD player, discs change, and tracks play, complete with elapsed times. When I put a cassette in the tape moves as usual. But I get no sound at all from any audio source. I can't hear anything via the lexus radio, tape deck, or cd changer even if volume is maxed.

None of the lower sound controls work. I can push the left button to turn the system on and off but turning the volume knob does nothing. I can push the right button to toggle through the sound options like treble and bass, but they all default to zero, and turning the knob does not change them. I can push the mute button but nothing happens and I don't see the little "mute" displayed on the info screen.

I changed both audio fuses, thinking one must have blown. But the fuses looked fine and the system still has no sound. I thought it might be the power amplifier, so hopefully getting that component repaired or replaced will do the trick. I just have to figure out how to get to it.

#9 lionbox

lionbox

    New Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Model: LX 470 & RX300
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 10 June 2007 - 08:59 AM


I've gone thru the same issue, and it's painful... no sound, everything working ok, antenna, radio presets, cd changer, BUT NO SOUND!!!


Did you ever figure out where the amp was and how to fix it?



#10 mywifezoe

mywifezoe

    New Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Model: rx300
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 10 June 2007 - 09:32 AM

i have full function and sound via the cd changer, but no radio (though the antenna does go up) or tape deck.

frustrating!

#11 lenore

lenore

    papa x9 2boys, 7 girls love them all

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,624 posts
  • First Name:Thomas
  • Model: 2008 Lexus RX400h 2nd Lexus
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: California (CA)

Posted 11 June 2007 - 09:17 AM

I've gone thru the same issue, and it's painful... no sound, everything working ok, antenna, radio presets, cd changer, BUT NO SOUND!!!

Dealers told me that the stereo had to be exchanged (after a $115 diagnosis) and the cost of replacing it would be 650 to 700!

...that is of course if ONLY the stereo was damaged, any other damaged part would need to be replaced also.

After digging around I took the Rx to an electronics guru to see if he could solve the problem.

Good thing is he DID!! for under 80 bucks!!

At his explanation, the thing was this:

The factory Amp (Located hidden under the second row seating) has two outputs, one for bass and the other for voice, those components (like everything in our cars) is linked to the stereo (so that would explain the lack of response when one tries to change the bass and treble settings)

He removed the amp and changed the electronic output for voice component, soldering on the new one in the process, I don't recall the chip number but he said it was fairly common and available in most places.

So before you try anything rash (and expensive) try taking your car to an electronic shop to test the amp, I would say with much certainty that if your car has the same symptoms your problem is the same as mine

So changing the amp voice output solved this for me.
Hope this helps

great info, wish you had the numbers on those amp chips, think the tech would give them to you or is it on your receipt?

#12 lionbox

lionbox

    New Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Model: LX 470 & RX300
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 12 June 2007 - 10:17 PM

What about the name and contact info of the tech that repaired your amp? This would be a good start. Any help on the location of the amp (in the vehicle) would also be apprecaited.

#13 Magent_mx

Magent_mx

    New Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Model: RX 300
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 13 June 2007 - 10:53 AM

To Locate the factory amp you have to fold the 2nd row seating and remove the spare tire and components.
Between the spare tire's space and the beggining of the 2 row seats there is a black aluminum casing from side to side (you will have to remove the upholstery and the plastic pins holding it down) It's easier if yor just remove all the 2nd row seat but it can be done without doing so (you just need to bend a little the aluminum casing)

The tech is across the boarder in TJ, but this guy really knows his job. Fortunately I still have his business card!! :lol:

His name is Jose Luis Lopez, he has an established business over 20 years old located at Av. Constitucion No 1841 Zona Centro Tijuana B.C

When I came to him he happened to have the spare component I needed so it just took him like 2 hours to get the job done,
If by any chance he doesn't have it I think he can get it but I don't know how long it would take.

Hope this helps
 :cheers:

#14 Magent_mx

Magent_mx

    New Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Model: RX 300
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 13 June 2007 - 11:02 AM

To Locate the factory amp you have to fold the 2nd row seating and remove the spare tire and components.
Between the spare tire's space and the beggining of the 2 row seats there is a black aluminum casing from side to side (you will have to remove the upholstery and the plastic pins holding it down) It's easier if yor just remove all the 2nd row seat but it can be done without doing so (you just need to bend a little the aluminum casing)

The tech is across the boarder in TJ, but this guy really knows his job. Fortunately I still have his business card!! :lol:

His name is Jose Luis Lopez, he has an established business over 20 years old located at Av. Constitucion No 1841 Zona Centro Tijuana B.C

When I came to him he happened to have the spare component I needed so it just took him like 2 hours to get the job done,
If by any chance he doesn't have it I think he can get it but I don't know how long it would take.

Hope this helps
:cheers:



Oh!!... I dont have the chip No. but once you have the amp on a qualified tech's hands It should be easy to find out which one it is, my guy told me that It was the OUTPUT chip, its big and next to the heat sink (I saw it) he also said it was fairly common (and old for this kind of car  :whistles: ) so finding a replacement should not be that complicated, the only thing is that the tech has to dissasemble/assemble the amp, and unsolder/solder the chip.

#15 lionbox

lionbox

    New Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Model: LX 470 & RX300
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 13 June 2007 - 06:56 PM

More than helps.... Thanks for going the extra mile on all the details!

Your detail was perfect...the amp is out and I've located the two chips that butt up to the heat sink. Do you know if it was the one on the left end side or the one further to right just off center?

Also, does the biz card have the phone number for the tech? I'd like to call him to confirm the IC number and if he'll take my board and replace the chip.

Thanks again for all the help!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have