Engine Mount Vs. Certified Warranty

bowtie3

My wife's 2000 RX300 FWD [ 53,000 miles ] has a worn/ torn top-engine mount [ Dogbone ] The engine rocks fore and aft when changing directions. The dealer says this is a " wear item " and is not covered by the Lexus Certified Warranty and will cost about $250.00 [ $150.00 labor / $85.00 parts ] PS, they don't have one; 2-3 days special-order. As a retired GM technician I would estimate this as a simple job, maybe 1/2 hour at the most. Where would be a good place to get one? I can't believe that an engine mount is not covered under warranty!

I also find it hard to believe that an engine mount is not covered under your warranty. I believe you should press these guys hard. If they don't budge, contact another dealer and be firm from the get-go.

I would also check with Lexus Corporate to get their take on this.

There's no way that an engine mount is a "wear item". I can see it now:

"Lexus 60,000 Mile Service Schedule:

Change oil, oil filter, air filter, check PCV valve, check belts and hoses, rotate tires, and change engine mounts."

For parts, might check at http://newlexusparts.com.

Also, I agree about the mounts not being a "wear item", but I am a little confused about this mount. Is this one on top -- not one of the underside mounts that holds all the weight? Might be a different issue as far as a "wear item". Just a thought

There are only TWO bolts holding that mount - one on the engine and one on the firewall.  It's right on top and completely accessable. I can't believe Lexus wants $150 for labor.

Another example of Lexus thinking that high end cars are only bought by people that have no mechanical ability and lots of money. So sad. If its two bolts I would do it myself or take it to Toyota. But I too would pursue the warranty issue, that is not a wear item.

When a Lexus dealer doesn't seem to be playing fair put there name out there and post it in your thread.