Do Hybrids Have Fewer Accidents

Moving from my old SUV to the 400h took a change in driving mindset. I am more conscious of gradual starts and stops and anticipating traffic to get the best mpg out of the vehicle. It occurs to me i am also a safer driver as a result. Yes there are times when i am late, and i use the power of the 400h more aggressively, however 90% of the time im in the laid back hybrid mode of travel.

Does this translate into fewer accidents with hybrids in the real world? I am wondering if someone has empirical data to back this up or its just my imaginiation.

As a general rule, heavier vehicles should be driven more gently than a light vehicle, but I would guess that soaring fuel prices has had an effect on driving habits of many motorists. I know I have beed driving more conservatively.

However, I have been involved in an accident already! Some ignorant person backed into our RX400h at a gas station. While our RX is waiting to be repaired, we are renting a new Maxima. Nissan has set up the gearing and accelerator pedal resistance so that stepping on the gas pedal (after a complete stop) just an inch or so results in the car throwing its passengers back into their seats while spinning the tires. Dang, that acceleration shocked me the first time it happened. Gas mileage has GOT to suffer when driving that car!

I doubt theres any such data.

Agreed. But I bet some insurance company actuaries will be collecting/analyzing such data as they come in.

To me, another interesting question is whether there are increased health/injury risks when a crash occurs. I know Toyota has done its homework, but I'm curious to see the real-world data.