Orbital Use

I have an '08 ES350 with Obsidian finish. I am considering purchasing an orbital from Griot's Garage for polishing and waxing. Does anyone have experience with their orbital and the machine polishes/waxes? I have been using their products for a few years and have been most pleased with them. I have always been hesitant to use a machine to either polish or wax - as I don't want to damage the finish. I realize the Lexus paint on the ES seems to be a softer finish that shows fine "scratches" even when wiping with microfiber towels.

Hi Manchester:

Just got my Black Obsidian April and mistakenly got it car washed ..SO I plan on getting an orbiter.

Look at the flex as the best of both worlds (Orbiter less RPM =less damage than higher powered rotary's)

suggest looking into the detailing thread in this forum (ES 350 detailing) http://us.lexusownersclub.com/forums/index...5222&st=255

Suggest reading it all but on the last 3 pages alot on the Flex versus the porter cable (previous best orbiter now the Flex)

these are expensive orbiters, but watch the videos and see what you want.

From detaildoc and that thread: "Here are a couple of great videos on how to use a PC/UDM: http://paintcare-n-detailing.com/pc_video.html http://paintcare-n-detailing.com/menzerna.html and one comparing the PC and the Flex http://paintcare-n-detailing.com/flex_demo.html

Good polishing!

I have an '08 ES350 with Obsidian finish. I am considering purchasing an orbital from Griot's Garage for polishing and waxing. Does anyone have experience with their orbital and the machine polishes/waxes? I have been using their products for a few years and have been most pleased with them. I have always been hesitant to use a machine to either polish or wax - as I don't want to damage the finish. I realize the Lexus paint on the ES seems to be a softer finish that shows fine "scratches" even when wiping with microfiber towels.

Hi Manchester: