Some Advice Please - Gen2 Or Gen2.5

cshih001

Hello, newbie here. I have been reading the forum for a while and finally decide to go for a LS400. I love the gen2.5 and think (personally) the body style is best looking LS so far. My dream car is a 2000 LS400 blk/blk with nav. I have been looking for a while too, just didn't find any yet. Recently a friend of mine is selling his 97 LS400 blk/blk with 130k, all services done at the dealership (water pump, timing belt, etc). Exerior and interior looks very clean too. He is upgrading to a new LS430 so he wants to sell this one for $13k. Would this be a reasonable price for the car and condition? What should I be looking out for as far as possible things to go wrong in this 97' LS400? What's the main difference between gen2 and gen2.5? Should I be holding out for my dream car gen2.5 or this is a good deal I should jump on it. A lot of question for my 1st post, thanks in advance for the help.

-CS

Hold out for Gen 2.5 in my opinion. I got a Gen 2...love to death! But 2.5 gives you 30 more HP, 5 gears instead of 4 "benefits debatable", wood steering wheel, spiffy computer, way better headlights and variable timing control....but you also get the electronic throttle setup issue.......which translates into a slight split second delay in pedle response. That is a personal preference however, and nearly everyone just adapts to it. Me? I'd get a 98+ model. I think you'd be much happier, especially coming into this as a newbie. But I'm not knockin' the gen 2's either...they're freakin' awesome!

13 is too high for a 2 to me especially from a friend.

1998-2000 is so far the best reliable LS . Ask any Lexus service department and they will tell you other than the normal wear parts it uses bushings especially front strut ones .

cshih001,