Q45 2002 Vs. Ls 400

tealboy

I have been keeping an eye open for a LS 430, 2001, but have decided the price premium for the 01 vs. the 2000 LS400 is too much (about $10k). I don't put a lot of miles on a car (8k per year max) so I prefer to be in the low to mid 20's. Both of these cars hit that point.

With the Q, I get a 2002 for appx $24k vs. $22k or so for a low mileage 1999 or 2000 LS. I am concentrating on both of these vehicles b/c they are smooth, comfortable, reliable and quiet cars. All important criteria to me. Howevr, I do not know enough about either to be able to draw a good comparision and make an informed decision. Obviously the Q depreciates more, therefore, I get a newer car for the same money, including side air bags, but I don't know what, if anything, i give up.

By the way, though i thought the Avalon might be comparable to the Lexus or Q, I drove it and no longer feel that way. Though nice, it is stiffer, less comfortable, transmits more road noise and just doesn't have a luxurious feel. A great car for sure, but not the same.

anyway, your comments and advice would be greatly appreciated. I am looking at a 2002 for $24k right now (no nav) w/ 55k miles and need your input, pls. thx

I have been keeping an eye open for a LS 430, 2001, but have decided the price premium for the 01 vs. the 2000 LS400 is too much (about $10k).  I don't put a lot of miles on a car (8k per year max) so I prefer to be in the low to mid 20's.  Both of these cars hit that point.

With the Q, I get a 2002 for appx $24k vs. $22k or so for a low mileage 1999 or 2000 LS.  I am concentrating on  both of these vehicles b/c they are smooth, comfortable, reliable and quiet cars.  All important criteria to me.  Howevr, I do not know enough about either to be able to draw a good comparision and make an informed decision.  Obviously the Q depreciates more, therefore, I get a newer car for the same money, including side air bags, but I don't know what, if anything, i give up.