Brake Pad Wear Sensor

Hi all,

I just changed my rear brake pads as the wear indicator was lit and the pads indeed were pretty well worn out.

However, I managed to damage the little sensor when I removed it and although it fitted back ok it was still giving the dashboard warning which is annoying as I'm a professional driver and it can worry some passengers.

Can I disable the warning feature (eg by disconnecting the sensor wiring plug)? I'd like to do this as the sensors are expensive and I always make my own visual checks on the pad thickness when doing services.

Many thanks!

Mike

I wonder if you could muck around with the rear brake sensor connector: i.e. use a jumper wire to bridge between pins on the connector to fool the system.

The rear brake wear sensor isn't all the expensive in the U.S. and the one on the U.K. spec 02 LS430 appears to be the same as on the U.S. spec 02 LS430. According to the following website, the part number is 47770-50060 ; http://www.toyodiy.com/parts/p_E_2002_LEXU...EAGKW_4707.html

Parts.com has the rear brake wear sensor for US$58.65 which is about the same as I paid for a front brake wear sensor for my 2000 LS400: http://www.parts.com/oemcatalog/index.cfm?...or&siteid=2

At what mileage did the rear brake wear sensor indicate that the rear pads were worn? The original rear pads on my 00 LS400 are still OK at 110,000 miles and should last until at least 125,000 miles. US$58.65 doesn't seem very much for a part that has to be replaced every 125,000 miles.

What does the rear brake wear sensor cost in the U.K.?

Thanks for your reply Jim.

The rear pads were changed at 70k and 140k according to the service records. And now they are worn down to about 2mm at 172k which I guess is a surprise.

The sensors over here retail at £93 which is around US$140.

I'll experiment with the wiring and see what happens.