Keep It Clean!

Rya

I'm new to the Lexus club (I've owned my '04 RX330 in Breakwater Blue Metallic for one week now). What types of cleaning products or processes do you do to keep your vehicle clean? I'd like to take it somewhere for a waxing, but that's all for now. Are automatic car washes ok, do you really have to flip the mirrors in every time? How about keeping the wood shiney & smooth and how in the world do you keep the light gray floor mats clean? The dealership got me brand new floor mats & the next day they were dirty - should I change the mats to the black or keep the gray & clean them somehow? Thanks for the advise! (Oh, btw, I'm not going to be spending hours cleaning this thing & my hubby won't be either - I'm lucky that the lawn gets mowed every week! I need fast & easy, thanks!).

Simple Green for the wheels and tires: spray on heavy, scrub tires with a brush, wipe wheels with a cloth, rinse clean.

I don't use automatic car washes, for they use too much pressure in some areas, and miss completely in others. I hear the 'touchless' carwash is decent, but I've never used one. Full service car washes like Octopus and others are nice, but they have a team of people actually hand washing/drying to ensure all surfaces are cleaned. I just use a bucket and mitt, and with the smooth design of these vehicles, you can wash one down in ~20 minutes.

Once washed, shuck the water with a California Waterblade, then wipe down with a towel or shammy.

Once dry, spray tire sidewalls with Turtle Wax Black Magic or Westley's Tire Wet... don't wipe, just let dry.

As for waxing, if you want to take the task on yourself, NuFinish is awesome stuff... goes on easy, comes off easy, and lasts a long, long time. If you take it somewhere for waxing, just make sure they use good stuff (most places do).