Es300 Powerlock Failed

I recently bought a pre-owned 1998 ES300. It's a very nice car except that the power door locks doesn't work properly. If I press the power lock button, all the 4 doors will get locked, but if I try to unlock, it wouldn't bugde. None of the door, including the driver side would open. As I am new to own a Lexus, I am trying to figure what could be the probme, before spending too much to the dealer. My local lexus dealer said, he will charge $95 for finding the problem and will let me know, what needs to be done. My remote key entry also doesn't work. I thought of buying and installing a keyless entry from bestbuy for $207 (keyless entry + remote start). But, they suggested that I find the problem, why unlocking is not working before spending money on another keyless entry system as the system will only trigger the lock and unlock mechanism of the car. So, if the unlocking mechanism itself has any problem, the keyless entry won't work.

I'm kind of worried. I have an appt with my local lexus dealer on monday (05/16/2005). But, before going any further to spend my money down the drain, can anybody help me figure out what could be the problem.

Thanks

Thanks for the response. Yup, I am going to take this car to my nearest Lexus dealer for diagnosis. I'll keep you guys posted about the problem and the recommendation made by the dealer. Hope it will help some other forum members in the future. B'coz I hear lots of people complaining about the door switch and security system problems. I have an appt with my dealer coming monday 05/16/2005. See ya later...