2002 Rx300 Pre-purchase Questions

Topshelf

Hey all, newbie here. I'm looking to get my wife into a nice RX300. I found a 2002 silver with 61,000 miles, tan leather and heated seats that she really likes. Took it for a test drive and it seemed nice. I know that the transmissions and the engine sludge are the 2 concerns, so I was wondering if you guys could tell me exactly what it is that I should be looking for or trying to feel while driving the car that would tip me off to any problems. I did notice the tiniest ticking noise while idling, but it didn't sound like anything to be overly concerned about, but that's why I'm asking. I do have 1 relatively major concern though...there was an extreme amount of wind noise coming from the windshield. I went back today since nobody was there for a thorough check, and I noticed 2 things that I believe are causing it. First, the passenger side glass moulding is not tight from the mid-point down. I don't know how it's held in place, but this needs to be addressed. Secondly, the top of the windshield appears to have a gap between the moulding and the roof line. There was a '99 right next to it, and that was butted up tight as a drum. My guess is some second rate installer replaced the windshield. Do you think this could all be easily fixed by having a pro remove eveything and reinstall the windshield? If so, any idea on cost? I was thinking about $200. Lastly, do you think it would be a good deal for around $19,000-$19,500? They are asking $21k, but I figure between the new tires ($600), windshield reseal ($200?), transmission service ($150?), inspection ($100...currently NJ, need PA) and the 60k service ($500?) I should be able to get them down to about $19k. If not, there's way too many out there to overpay.

Thanks for any help you guys have to give on this as I'm looking to get the wife into something I don't have to be concerned about.