Just purchased a 2013 450h - have 2 questions

I just purchased a 2013 450h with 100k miles - we love it.  I previously (and still do) owned a 2006 RX350 -185k miles and running strong, it's been a great car!  I wanted to get something newer and a hybrid if possible and found this one - it's in excellent shape and love the color (dark red)!  

1. I have worked on my own cars for years - but am a total newbie when it comes to the hybrid part.  I've been reading the manual and online posts on hybrid/ev related items.  So when we got the car home and put it in the garage, I heard this noise - like a whirring sound, coming from the front when I take it out of Park and put in Reverse/backup - I think it only makes this noise after the motor has shut off when it is still in Park and I back it up.  I was told this is a normal sound when going in reverse but why don't I always hear it whenever I am backing up, instead of only some of the times? 

2.  There is a button to enable "EV" .  Whenever I try it, I get a message "EV unavailable"  .  Is this normal and what is the purpose of the button?

These are probably simple things, but being an EV newbie, I appreciate any thoughts/comments!

Pat

Congratulations on your new 2013 Lexus RX 450h! It’s great to hear that you’re enjoying it, especially with the lovely dark red color. Let’s address your questions:

1. Whirring Sound in Reverse:

• The noise you’re hearing when you shift into reverse is likely related to the hybrid system. Specifically, it’s associated with the pedestrian warning system. This system generates a sound to alert pedestrians when the vehicle is moving in reverse. It’s designed to enhance safety, especially in situations where pedestrians might not notice the quiet electric operation of the hybrid.