16" Snow Wheels Question...

Crispy

New here helping friends set up their "new" 2001 LS430 with winter wheels & tires. The owners manual says the stock sizes are 225/60-16 and 225/55-17. Tire Rack does not offer 16's for the LS, only for the GS. I want to set up snows on 16's and may even go to 215/65's for the best snow traction. I have lots of experience setting up cars for snow and know the perils of going off spec. I may or may not go 215....

My question: Can I fit 16" wheels offered by Tire Rack for the GS on our LS? Is there a caliper issue? Thanks, C.

Tire Rack does not offer 16's for the LS, only for the GS.

Yes, it is odd that Tire Rack doesn't show 16" wheels for the LS430 -- its more on oddity/problem of its website. Try choosing a winter package for a 2000 LS400. A 2000 LS400 like mine has the same "big brakes" the LS430 has. In fact, the wheels that came standard on the variation of the LS400 I have were also standard on the 01-02 LS430. I see one 16" wheel on Tire Rack that fits the 2000 LS400 which would also fit the LS430.

I recommend that you instead look for a set of used Lexus wheels. I bought a set of Milla Miglia Bello wheels from Tire Rack in a snow tire package for my 00 LS400 and wish I hadn't. Aftermarket wheel models tend to get discontinued pretty quickly. My Bello wheels are no longer available -- if I bend/ruin one, I'm SOL.

You might check Craiglist or the Lexus dealer for a set of used or take-off wheels. I've seen decent 16" LS430 wheels on Craigslist for around $50. Or you could use the car's current 16" wheels (if it has 16" instead of 17" wheels) for the snow tires and take the rest of the winter to assemble a set of wheels to use with the summer tires. You can always buy one or two wheels at a time -- no need to look for a set of four.