New Owner Of Lexus Rx 300 (2002)

emolinare

Hey guys,

I live in Canada and I just bought (this evening) a used Lexus 2002 RX 300 for 18,000 USD.

I took it for a ride and just fell in love with the car immediatelly.

This is the car if you want to see it:

http://www.trader.ca/powerpage/details.asp...mp;adid=6308176

Sorry if my questions will sound lame, but I am really new to this type of car...

Anyhow, this being 2002 model with 120,000 km (74,500 miles) on the engine, how many miles (km) I can expect the engine last for?

I saw some cars on the market with higher millage, but can someone tell me how do these engine perform?

Can I expect it to work fine for another 100k miles lets say?

I hear about the transmission problems and my question is, if I in any danger of transmission replacement with 75k miles on it?

What other problems I can expect with 2002 model?

Is there any way to buy a navigation GPS system for this car? Something which would actually look good after an installation?

Also can someone guess a resale value lets say 3 years from now, with approx. 125k miles on it?

Sorry I have a lot of question, but I am just so excited about the car :) :cheers:

Thanks a lot.

Joe

These engines can go more than 250,000 miles (~400,000 km) if taken care of correctly.

The question here isn't the engine, but the transmisson. I noticed your rx300 is all wheel drive. These transmissions have been known to fail early. Check the transmission fluid; make sure it's light red in color and doesn't smell burned. Have it flushed or replaced every so often, and you should be fine.

You can have the "stock" navigation installed, but you'll be looking at a few thousand (US dollars). This topic has come up a few times on this forum; you can try looking them up, or someone else may be able to help you.

There really aren't any major problems with the rx300. Just browse the forum and you'll see everything that's come up with the members here.