Advice For Newbies Re: Oil Changes

golfknut

Hello everyone,

I got a used 2003 Lexus IS300 back in August and i just got my oil changed. Of course i was a complete noob and the oil they put in was Castrol GTX 10W30. Is that the recommended oil for this car is that the best one to get? I can't tell from googling the web if it's synthetic or not. Should I just buy my own oil next time and bring it in to the shop? I google'd around and ppl seem to recommend Mobil 1 5w30 but i'm not sure what the 10w30 and synthetic mean do i really need them, etc.

Edit: forgot to add, i paid $26 for labor (.3h) and about 22 for the oil for 5.7 q.. is that expensive for an oil change?

Need some advice from fellow IS owners :)

Thanks so much in advance!

Well, first, Welcome to the LOC. :)

And yes, the first time I took mine in for an oil change because I was in a hurry and didn't have the time to do it myself, they used Castrol also. GTX is not a synthetic oil. It is a modified conventional oil. I beleive Syntec is the Castrol synthetic line.

I see your in Seattle, The weather there gets very cold?, Then yeah, a 5w30 would be a better choice for the colder weather conditions. I am a huge Amsoil user. I recommend it to everyone without reservation. I am not a Mobil fan, they use a mixed base stock for thier oils, but that's just me.

I would definately atleast go synthetic though. Todays synth. oils just way out perform conventionals on so many levels. And you extend your oil change frequency to boot.

Well, first, Welcome to the LOC. :)

And yes, the first time I took mine in for an oil change because I was in a hurry and didn't have the time to do it myself, they used Castrol also. GTX is not a synthetic oil. It is a modified conventional oil. I beleive Syntec is the Castrol synthetic line.