Wrecking Yard Strut Bar Bushings?

prix

Would it be insane to install strut bar bushings in good condition from a wrecking yard? These are the bushings that go at the end for the lateral arms in the front suspension. I can get them at the wrecking yard for $50 each, versus the cheapest OEM (new) price online of about $150 per bushing. I need one each for the right and left.

I'll also have to pay for about 2 hours labor. No, I am not a mechanic and cannot do this myself. My car has very resale value at this point, so I am loathe to invest $500+ on a single repair.

try www.parts.com and see if they have better price for OEM

Not sure which part you mean but stabalizer bar bushing is just $10.37 a side. The lower arm bushing is $36.79 a side.

try www.parts.com and see if they have better price for OEM

Not sure which part you mean but stabalizer bar bushing is just $10.37 a side. The lower arm bushing is $36.79 a side.

Here are the strut rods.. see photo

lexuspartsonline.com for $97ea

post-5365-1267907467_thumb.jpg

Would it be insane to install strut bar bushings in good condition from a wrecking yard? These are the bushings that go at the end for the lateral arms in the front suspension. I can get them at the wrecking yard for $50 each, versus the cheapest OEM (new) price online of about $150 per bushing. I need one each for the right and left.

I'll also have to pay for about 2 hours labor. No, I am not a mechanic and cannot do this myself. My car has very resale value at this point, so I am loathe to invest $500+ on a single repair.

Well, in short, it is not a good idea. The rubber part(bushing) ages even in the junk yard. Ozone and the elements cause cracks and deterioration of the bushing which are only detectable upon close examination or when your vehicle goes "clunk".

Especially if you are paying for labor, it is wise to only go with new. You can have new bushings pressing into the old bars if you like or go with a completely new unit.