High Idle When Warm

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie to this forum. I usually do all the maintenance for all my cars at home with help of my cousin. Recently I bought a 98 ES300 with about 110K on it.

I decided to do full servicing since I didn't get all service records from previous owner. Car had been running good though since I bought it couple of weeks ago and also it was running perfectly fine when we did following.

Engine Oil and Filter change (Mobil-1 oil & filter)

Transmission Flush

Radiator Flush

Brake Fluid Flush

Power Steering Fluid Flush

Spark Plugs replaced with double platinums

Spark plug cables replaced

Air filter replaced

Replaced front brake pads

Tire rotation

But yesterday after we did throttle body and intake cleaning since then car starts up with over 2000 RPM and stays high (1700+) RPM even after it is warm (2+ minutes). I took a ride on freeway and even after 10 minutes of driving if I live the gas pedal car keeps cruising at 45 MPH and doesn't go below that range. And because of the higher RPM, tranny doesn't shift smoothly. It shifts fine while in motion but I feel little jerk while going from Park to Reverse or Drive.

We didn't remove the entire throttle body out but just removed the big flex hose that connects to throttle body opening and then sprayed with STP cleaner and used clean cloth to clean inside. My cousin did lift the butterfly opening while car was not running. Can this cause problem? And if yes then how can I get this fixed?

Does anybody else have seen similar symptom?

I will really appreciate your help regarding this matter.

-EMT

Reset the ECU (Pull the EFI fuse for a second & replace it).

If it doesn't get better, check the coolant temp sensor.

Thanks for info Toysrme..