2003 Ls 430 Need Advice

naturalgas

Newbie here. I justed picked up a 03 LS with 29k miles super clean at an auction. I had the local dealer check the car out and it is 100%. He could't sell me anything. But they recommended that I get the timing belt and water pump changed to the tune of $1252.00 because of age of car. Would this be a good idea? Or just put the miles on it before I get it done which will be quite awhile for me as this is a third car for me? Any ideas on this? Thanks in advance Jim

Per your owners manual, the recommended timing belt change interval is 6 years or 90,000 miles. Be aware that actual timing belt failure, due to wear of the belt, is almost unheard of. It's usually some other component (water pump, tensioner, idler) that fails and takes the timing belt with it. On my first LS, a 1990 LS400, the timing belt was trashed at about 75,000 miles when the water pump failed. I had bought the car new and I think I was at about the six year mark. There was no damage to my 90 LS engine but the early LS had "non-interference" engines. From the 1998 model year onward and some say from the 1995 model your onward, the LS engines are of the "interference" type and many thousands of $$$ of damage are caused when a timing belt "breaks" or fails due to some other component failing.

I would go ahead and change the timing belt but make sure that all the failure prone components are also replaced - water pump, idlers, tensioner and there will be a few other small inexpensive parts too.