Thinking About Buying A 91 Ls400. Have Questions

Jimmie2512

Hello,

I am new to Lexus cars and I am looking at buying a 91 LS 400 with 185k miles. From everything I have read this is just the beggining of this cars life. I do have a couple of questions that I hope someone can answer for me before I drop the money on it.

All the info I have on the car says it has been taking really good care of and I don't really see any issues with it except the trac light is on and from what I have read that is common. But what concerns me is that it has the electronic suspension and I have read that replacing the shocks on those is fairly expensive. How often do the shocks need to be changed on average?

This LS has every option available that year and is a for sale for a really good price and I REALLY want to buy this car. I just want to make sure I am not missing anything. Any info y'all can give me would be great. Thanks in advance!

I wouldn't say that 185K is "just the beginning" but a well kept LS at that mileage can have a lot of life left in it although a number of components will likely need replacing/fixing along the way. My 90 LS looked and drove nearly like new when I sold it in 2003 at 183.5K miles. As of a few weeks ago, the second owner was selling it at 295K miles but the car had started to visibly rust around the rear wheel arches.

Air suspension was a fairly inexpensive ($1,500) option in 1990 but it can cost several times that (exceeding the value of the vehicle) to replace all the OEM air struts with new ones. Many replace the air suspension with aftermarket coil spring suspensions when the OEM air suspension starts to die.