Blew Up A 1999 Es300

I'm not an incapable mechanic but I'm not a professional either. I've repaired/rebuilt many an engine, transmission etc. That being said here is the story.

My moms 1999 ES300 had some trouble codes, I replaced what was wrong except one item. Narrowed it down to a knock sensor which is apprently common on these cars. Not a big issue to replace as some of you may have read, remove and replace intake maniffold etc. Fairly simple. Car ran great for about 60 miles. All the codes gone etc then something mechanical let loose. Lots of white/grey smoke that lingers and it is knocking like crazy. Doesn't sound like a rod knock, more like something is being hammered on. Only thing I can think of is I dropped a piece of hardware down an intake port. I doubt it as I'm careful with items like that and the ports are stuffed the moment they are exposed. It would have to be a washer or something on top of a stud for me to have missed it. I haven't torn it down yet so I'm not 100% positive about anything. Just ticks me off. Any comments welcome. Does anybody know the interchangeability of 1mzfe motors across models/years?

If you could borrow a borescope, you could pull the spark plugs and see if there is anything in the cylinders. But I would really doubt that you dropped anything in there, (i would suspect that you would know it before you drive 60 miles). My first quess would be the intake manifold gaskets leaking coolant. Have you checked the oil? Check the spark plugs for signs of coolant.

If you need another engine, I would suggest doing a search on ebay for JDM engines. You can pick up a good, low mileage engine, complete with all accessories cheap. I have used these engines several times and strongly recommend them.