Autocross Setups?

felty52

I have been looking around and could not find any information on is300 autox setups. i currently have tokico illumina shocks/struts for the front and rear in the box. i dont know what sway bar and lowering springs to go with. does anyone run autocross or have any ideas what to run. are strut tower braces worth the money as well. i will be running in the st class so ill have street tires on it.

Are you going to keep the car on the street also? I would put a slightly larger sway bar set up on it, but honestly, your money is going to be much better spent on better brakes and rotors, along with some steel braided brake lines and a transmission cooler. Really. I wouldn't waste your money on alot of other things until you do those first. I've been racing for 24 years now. The better brakes will have the largest inpact on your lap times, and the transmission cooler will keep your car on the road alot longer. Then make sure you take everything you can take out of the car and make the car as light as you can. The rear seat for example just pops out, and 4 screws removes the rest of it. Pull the spare tire out and all the other stuff out of the trunk. etc. etc. etc. All cheap, and really the most effective way to go faster around the track. I would even pull the stereo system out and the speakers. and all the lining and sound deadening materials. Also, make sure the throttle cable on the intake doesn't have alot of slack in it. Can you modify the air intake at all? For some reason I'm thinking in the ST class you have to have the stock intake, but you can use an aftermarket filter medium like K&N or Blitz. So atleast do that.