Lexus Purchase Experience In Seattle

BillH2

I have been around new car dealerships for over 30 years and I have no illusions about how they operate. Anyone who thinks that they are in business for any reason but to make as much profit as possible is kidding themselves. I had been researching the GS-430 Lexus since September of 2004. I did the usual, decide on what I had to have, would like to have and could do without. I really wanted a Cinnabar color with a black interior, but I have never seen one advertised. Could do without NAV but wanted one with a Mark Levinson sound system. In the middle of March, I put together a list of cars I wanted to look at in Seattle and made the trip from Central Washington. One car listed was at Lee Johnson Chevrolet in Kirkland. Of all things, they had the exact car. Cinnabar, Black leather, no nav, ML stereo. In looking the car over, I noticed that it had different brand tires, but I wasn’t too concerned. We made the deal and I drove it home where I discovered that the tires not only were different brand, but they were different sizes. (215’s front, 235’s rear) That wouldn’t have been a deal breaker had I noticed it earlier, it just meant that I couldn’t rotate them. It was my own fault for not looking closer.