Jump to content

  •  

Photo

Low Tire Pressure Indicator


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 eugene.s

eugene.s

    Advanced Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • First Name:Eugene
  • Model: LX570
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-US

Posted 23 December 2008 - 11:37 PM

Hello All,

I bought a GX470 2005 in Russia and there are no Lexus centers in my region. The temperature here is around 14 F but the low tire pressure indicator flashs all the time (though the pressure in all 5 wheels is per the manual). I searched in this forum and in the web but failed to find some practical advice on the following:

1. Tips for checking the sensors by yourself. Where are they located?

2. Tips how to change tires on wheels (i.e. remove old tires and put new ones on the same wheel) -- how to do it not to damage the sensors; how to put the same sensors on new tires?

I would appreciate any practical advice.

Thanks
Eugene

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

 

#2 GDixon

GDixon

    Dedicated Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 543 posts
  • First Name:Gary
  • Model: 2008 RX350 AWD
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: California (CA)

Posted 24 December 2008 - 06:28 AM

Hello All,

I bought a GX470 2005 in Russia and there are no Lexus centers in my region. The temperature here is around 14 F but the low tire pressure indicator flashs all the time (though the pressure in all 5 wheels is per the manual). I searched in this forum and in the web but failed to find some practical advice on the following:

1. Tips for checking the sensors by yourself. Where are they located?

2. Tips how to change tires on wheels (i.e. remove old tires and put new ones on the same wheel) -- how to do it not to damage the sensors; how to put the same sensors on new tires?

I would appreciate any practical advice.

Thanks
Eugene


The sensors are inside of the tires and part of each valve stem so are attached to the rim. Sometimes eBay has them for sale so you can see what they look like.

Changing rubber on the rims should not be a problem if a tire dealer does it and knows about the sensors. If you do it, be careful with the tire iron around the valve stem area. Changing out the sensors is a matter of removing the valve stem and reinstalling with new gaskets - they are a bit expensive however. Then a dealer has to electronically link the new sensors to your vehicle.

There is a reset switch for the tire pressure sensors under the dash. You'll have to search this site to find a post about it and how to specifically reset it.

Lexus tends to recommend low tire pressues so you might put an extra 3 or 4 pounds (whatever that is in metric) and see if the dash light goes off. Remember to do the spare.

#3 eugene.s

eugene.s

    Advanced Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • First Name:Eugene
  • Model: LX570
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-US

Posted 24 December 2008 - 10:44 PM

The sensors are inside of the tires and part of each valve stem so are attached to the rim. Sometimes eBay has them for sale so you can see what they look like.

Changing rubber on the rims should not be a problem if a tire dealer does it and knows about the sensors. If you do it, be careful with the tire iron around the valve stem area. Changing out the sensors is a matter of removing the valve stem and reinstalling with new gaskets - they are a bit expensive however. Then a dealer has to electronically link the new sensors to your vehicle.

There is a reset switch for the tire pressure sensors under the dash. You'll have to search this site to find a post about it and how to specifically reset it.

Lexus tends to recommend low tire pressues so you might put an extra 3 or 4 pounds (whatever that is in metric) and see if the dash light goes off. Remember to do the spare.


Thank you for your advice. I understand that were I to change the rubber, it should not affect the sensors as they are on the rim and are not attached to the rubber (please correct me if I am wrong).

Many thanks again

#4 steviej

steviej

    Guru Member

  • Management Team
  • 5,001 posts
  • Model: 2006 GS300 AWD

Posted 26 December 2008 - 10:14 PM

Thank you for your advice. I understand that were I to change the rubber, it should not affect the sensors as they are on the rim and are not attached to the rubber (please correct me if I am wrong).
Many thanks again


correct the TPMS is built into the valve stem and base of the stem. Putting on a new tire will not effect the TPMS system. The tire shop may offer a TPMS service which simple consists of changing out the seals and gaskets. Most reputable shops know what they are doing because so many vehicles have TPMS nowadays. I just had mine done and there is no problem. The electronics stay put and don't have to be reprogrammed.

steviej

#5 eugene.s

eugene.s

    Advanced Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • First Name:Eugene
  • Model: LX570
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-US

Posted 28 December 2008 - 07:29 PM

Many thanks to all. I replaced the tires last weekend, leaving the same pressure sensors, all went just okay.

There were a number of suggestions on the forum that the tire pressure per Lexus manuals is lower than needed (32 psi per the manual and people suggested using 34 psi). Really, with 32 psi of air it flashed the low tire pressure indicators. Now I got nitrogen at 32 psi sharp and the indicator does not flash.

#6 steviej

steviej

    Guru Member

  • Management Team
  • 5,001 posts
  • Model: 2006 GS300 AWD

Posted 28 December 2008 - 08:42 PM

set the tires to the pressure you want/like and then reinitialize the TPMS system. (instructions are in your manaul and very simple).
This will set the target pressure to what you currently have in the tires.

steviej

#7 eugene.s

eugene.s

    Advanced Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • First Name:Eugene
  • Model: LX570
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-US

Posted 20 January 2009 - 01:37 AM

set the tires to the pressure you want/like and then reinitialize the TPMS system. (instructions are in your manaul and very simple).
This will set the target pressure to what you currently have in the tires.

steviej


Thanks, Stevie, my last post was confusing -- what I meant is that all is okay now. With 32 psi of air the indicator flashed all the time (assume because of temperature changes in my place) but with 32 psi of nitrogen all is well. Thanks. (BTW, there are no instruction in GX470 manual as to how to reset the TPMS system but I think I saw this option in the service menu).

#8 donashley

donashley

    New Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Model: gx470
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 08 February 2009 - 07:09 PM

set the tires to the pressure you want/like and then reinitialize the TPMS system. (instructions are in your manaul and very simple).
This will set the target pressure to what you currently have in the tires.

steviej


Thanks, Stevie, my last post was confusing -- what I meant is that all is okay now. With 32 psi of air the indicator flashed all the time (assume because of temperature changes in my place) but with 32 psi of nitrogen all is well. Thanks. (BTW, there are no instruction in GX470 manual as to how to reset the TPMS system but I think I saw this option in the service menu).



#9 donashley

donashley

    New Club Member

  • Regular Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Model: gx470
  • Location: Please Select

Posted 08 February 2009 - 07:11 PM

set the tires to the pressure you want/like and then reinitialize the TPMS system. (instructions are in your manaul and very simple).
This will set the target pressure to what you currently have in the tires.

steviej

HowThanks, Stevie, my last post was confusing -- what I meant is that all is okay now. With 32 psi of air the indicator flashed all the time (assume because of temperature changes in my place) but with 32 psi of nitrogen all is well. Thanks. (BTW, there are no instruction in GX470 manual as to how to reset the TPMS system but I think I saw this option in the service menu).


how do you reset the tpms

#10 steviej

steviej

    Guru Member

  • Management Team
  • 5,001 posts
  • Model: 2006 GS300 AWD

Posted 09 February 2009 - 11:02 PM

how do you reset the tpms


it should be in your owners manaul. I could give you a step by step on the GS, but I don't know if that is the same for the GX. I would assume it would be.

steviej

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have