My Lextech.org Cluster

A few months ago, I decided to have my gauge cluster upgraded with blue needles and ultra-white lights. So I sent a working cluster to Lextech.org. When it came back, it was beautiful, but there were problems.

When it came back to me, all was OK except the fuel guage did not work. I was told to I had to put a new fuel guage in myself. Since I had previously bought a scrapped cluster, I moved that fuel guage over to the Lextech one. Not being an engineer, I managed to disable the Tach and water gauges. I still had blue needles, but neither the Tach nor the water gauge registered properly. I sent the cluster back to Lextech and they got the tach working, but the water gauge still did not register.

OK, the problem with the water gauge stems from the earlier fix's that this cluster has undergone. I have the original repair orders from the original owner and a Lexus dealer in this area repaired this cluster three times in 12 years. The water gauge Must have the mounting screws inserted and tightened down properly. It seems that the screws not only hold the water gauge in place, they complete an electric circuit. The screws must tighten up through a set of plastic tubes and over the years these tubes have become distorted and three of the screws would not tighten down properly to make that connection.

Here is where my mechanic comes in. He inserted a VERY fine wire down into each tube and then put the screw in and it tightened down properly. The wire acts as a Heli-Coil. (Those of you that have worked in manufacturing and/or auto repair know what a heli-coil is) Any way, the cluster is working perfectly now.

I have included a picture showing the back of the cluster and a couple of the screws so that you can get an idea of the problem. Particurlarly look at the design of the screws and you will see the need to wrap them with the very fine wire.

I hope this is clear. Others may run into this problem also.

post-17060-1154553721_thumb.jpg