New To Lexus

borris

Hi there. I am new to Lexus in general, though am somewhat familiar with the 2JZ in the 94 SC 300 I just picked up. A friend of mine has a 95 mk IV and I used to have a 7M in my old mk III. I've fiddled with engine rebuilds, minor xmition work, some body work, paint and chassis work. At this point I am ready for a real project and, with the help of a friend's prodding, I picked up the SC 300. I havent broken down to any specifics and the ultimate direction for the car is still unknown, however I would like to do a full restore on the interior and possibly some custom as I am interested in doing some of my own upholstery. The exterior needs a facelift and has some topical rust in only one spot, I am thinking of going jet black with a nice gloss. Looking at going with a CF hood and trunk but painted black as well, never worked with CF though so I am open to suggestion its just that the hood is soo !Removed! heavy. I've seen CF doors online, but they're a bit expensive; has anyone worked with the CF doors for the SC? I am intending on doing a GTE build/rebuild, depending on what the best option seems to be at the time, in my garage including the transmition and complete drivetrain so that once it is done I can attempt a 1-day swap and then hopefully do a rebuild on what I pull out and recoup some of my expenses by selling the originals off. I know it will take some time and want to give it every ounce of time needed to arrive at the best result. I intend to lean on this community as much as possible and will hopefully get to a point where I can give back with Lexus specific information. Any and all comments, opinions, and assistance would be helpful.