Intermittent Control Issue With Nakamichi Stereo '97 Ls400

JohnPHX

Fellas, I'm brand new to the world of Lexus ownership and I need your held. Here's the deal: I just purchased a '07 LS400 that has issues with the factory stereo. At random times the stereo controls do not work. For example, yesterday I was listening to CDs without an issue and switched to FM. I was able to change stations, no problem. This morning I can't switch back to CD or tune to AM. To controls won't work for a period of time and will then come back. The power knob always seems to work. I haven't been able to find this same issue in the forums. Also, I can't seem recognize a pattern here. In general, I'm pleased with the stereo system and am not looking to swap it out right now. Chime in with any knowledge or advice you can. Thank you!

John B.

Phoenix, AZ

If you don't want to go aftermarket, start looking for a working used Nakamichi headunit for a 95-97 LS400. Nobody I know of repairs Nakamichi any more as parts have become unavailable as Nakamichi went bankrupt. The current Nakamichi Company only resurrected the Nakamichi name. Lexus won't help you out with exchange Nakamichi components like they used to. I was told they are required to provide parts for only six years (or was it seven?) after a car is sold.

eBay would be a good place to look. If you want to install an aftermarket radio, you will find that adapter harnesses are not available for LS400's with Nakamichi radio -- you or the installer will be doing some serious cutting and splicing.

I will be in the same boat if the Nak in my 00 LS400 fails again. I got it repaired (barely) when the right channel went out a couple of years ago but only because the balance control needed re-soldering and no parts were needed.

No Just send the unit to audiovideoservicestop.