Lexus Sc400 Common Problems?

Luna Vyohr

So, I'm going to be looking into buying an SC400 soon... The SC400 is one of my all time FAVORITE cars, and I'm just wondering what the most common mechanical problems are with these cars? I'd like to know as much as I can about what I'm buying.

All the 400s in my area are between 1992 and 1995, and they usually have around 110,000, to 140,000 max.

well i cant say that im a lexus expert because im not... but i have a 92 sc400 with over 200,000 on it and it runs great! the only mechanical thing i had to replace was the alternator because i overfilled the power steering and it shorted out... it is a very solid car if well taken care of....

There are several problems to be aware of.

1) Lower control arm bushings, check for play, replace with Daizan bushings from TM Engineering or replace with Supra 94-98. Bolt on.

2) Lower ball joints, see if boots are busted

3) Power steering leaking under tank or main hose, will cause alternator to go out

4) Cracks on the radiator overflow tank

5) Cabin vents crack from temperature change, hot and cold

6) Blacked out LCD on your climate control, can change for aftermarket one on Ebay for 125

7) Needles and back lighting goes out. Contact Lextech.com or Lexls.com for a DIY

8) Door hinge sag

9) Craks on upper door panel where you arm normally rest while driving

10) Window regualtors break, can be fixed easily

Im sure they are more but these are the most common ones. Make sure you do the maintenance, timing belt, plugs, water pump, etc.

There are several problems to be aware of.

1) Lower control arm bushings, check for play, replace with Daizan bushings from TM Engineering or replace with Supra 94-98. Bolt on.

2) Lower ball joints, see if boots are busted

3) Power steering leaking under tank or main hose, will cause alternator to go out

6) Blacked out LCD on your climate control, can change for aftermarket one on Ebay for 125