Jump to content

Spammers Have Hit This Site!


Recommended Posts


I don't know where to post this and it is important especially for folks selling and buying from this Lexus website.

Today I received one of those nigerian letters requesting information about my credit card. The "spammer" was trying to buy a Lexus wheel jack from me but first needed to know the name on my credit card. I had placed a message here about a faulty RX300 jack and received responses. Someone is obviously looking over these posts and emailing others requesting very personal info. I've forwarded that email with the full headers to "abuse@gmail" and also to another internet police site to deal with that spammer. He had my email adress, and got the rest of the info from here. All he needed was my credit card info!

I'm posting this here to warn everyone about what has happened to me so that you can be on your toes especially if you are looking to buy something here. Be very careful who you respond to before making the transction.

Kind regards to ll.

R. May

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks Renoir911. Hence this just shows why we make the Buy and Sell forums a little strict because of spammers in today's world. If anyone feels or senses any spammers, feel free to message myself or any of the moderators or administrators here on LOC and we will handle it from there. Thank You


LOC Moderator

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Actually, I'll post the email I received and the full headers. If you can do something about it, great. You may delete this if I unknowingly brake a rule by posting this.

Now remember, I had asked questions on Lexus car jacks and someone had responded with going with bottle jacks as they are superior. This is theonly site where I discussed this, SO I know the spammer was here recently.




Dear Sir/Madam,

I'm Mr Paul Smith and I would like to Order some Bottle Jack.. I want to know the types that you carry in stock as well as the price ranges for me to advice the quantity I desire. however I want this units to be shipped to Ghana West Africa and I want to know the types of credit card you admit for payment. Thank You and waiting for your prompt reply.

Best Regard


From Paul Smith Sat Aug 29 10:13:22 2009

X-Apparently-To: renoir911@yahoo.ca via; Sat, 29 Aug 2009 03:13:34 -0700

Return-Path: <pls.smith1@gmail.com>

X-YMailISG: ImlkiKoWLDs3w9X3opFkUU89l9Ni8Z1jULGidnzw2bp66.9N4jkTaxOcUuJCXsNM9KzjhHz6HR2BvRdU






X-Originating-IP: []

Authentication-Results: mta108.mail.ac4.yahoo.com from=gmail.com; domainkeys=pass (ok); from=gmail.com; dkim=pass (ok)

Received: from (EHLO mail-yw0-f190.google.com) (

by mta108.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with SMTP; Sat, 29 Aug 2009 03:13:34 -0700

Received: by ywh28 with SMTP id 28so210164ywh.15

for <renoir911@yahoo.ca>; Sat, 29 Aug 2009 03:13:30 -0700 (PDT)

DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed;

d=gmail.com; s=gamma;







DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; c=nofws;

d=gmail.com; s=gamma;





MIME-Version: 1.0

Received: by with SMTP id r12mr4045270ybr.2.1251540802572; Sat,

29 Aug 2009 03:13:22 -0700 (PDT)

Date: Sat, 29 Aug 2009 03:13:22 -0700

Message-ID: <8e2f20160908290313tf0e4bc5xad8d12e6939126f0@mail.gmail.com>

Subject: Order

From: Paul Smith <pls.smith1@gmail.com>

To: pls.smith1@gmail.com

Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=000e0cd59be2f597e90472450cce

Content-Length: 1347

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What, no "I have your inheritance, waiting for instructions on what account number wire to it for me of payment"? No "I bottle sell jack of quality card credit required"? I love the english these idiots use!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, one has to wonder who they really are!

I forward all these nigerian type emails to the "abuse@" providers and they deal with them by canceling their email priviledges. They just resurface the same day under a new name. Another place I forward these to is "wafl@phonebusters.com" It is a Canadian internet police website that goes after these guys.

Anyway, you have a great day.

R. May

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A buddy of mine and I were saying that someone should sell these spammers english lessons. With proper english a lot of this stuff would be very convincing...

I agree! Lately I've been getting emails from "Bank of America" saying that my account has been hacked or something and it looks really legit but then the FROM email address is something like xxx@xxxx.com so I instantly deleted it before moving on.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...