What Kind Of Oil To Use?

DuaneG

I personally think it’s more important to change your oil at 5k mile intervals than what you use (well don’t buy an off brand no name oil). I've never tried the synthetics but I have to say it does sound impressive and I am tempted to give them a go. The one issue in my mind is that as cars age and “loosen up” you get more cylinder “blow by” and this contaminates the oil faster. So while synthetic may be a better lubricant that contamination still goes on. Most of these synthetics come with special filters so maybe they’ve figured it all out.

I’m not an expert on synthetics but there are some people here more up on them than I.

Either way 160k miles isn't much for these cars. You have many oil changes ahead of you.

93 LS400, 160K miles.

What kindof oil should I use?

I am not using synthetic at this time, but should I think about changing over?

D

Short answer - NO. Ain't no good reason to change that I can think of ... but be my guest ... read up ... plenty of threads here.

I have converted every car I have owned, most with high mileage, to synthetic with no issues. The reports of cars burning oil after switching are just myths now. You can switch if you like. Personal preferance.

You can go longer on a synthetic than dino oil.

I run 10-30 Mobile 1 full synthetic for 5k with no issues. My car has 219k

What does your LS handbook recommend?

That is usually the best spot for this type of information as it was written with usually millions(and in this case billions) of dollars of researh behind it.

That being said, I run synthetic in my LS due to the -40Celcius Winter temps(-60 with windchill on occasion) and it has no problems starting in the dead-chill of the Canadian prairies.(The telescopic steering wheel sure makes odd noises at that temp though, and my guageset takes several minutes to fully illuminate as well).