Advice For A New Black 250 In The Open, In The Winter!

Hi all,

Recently I just purchased my very first Lexus.... more specifically, my very first car! And my head is spinning over what to do with it, as far as maintenance goes. Pretty much everything I read online contradicts something else I read a few minutes ago, and I'm not sure where to even start!

Now, for some quickie information, I'm a college student, and as such, will not have the luxury of housing my IS250 in a garage for the duration of a harsh Wisconsin winter, and therefore need urgent advice on just how to best take car of it before a self wash and wax is out of the question!

So far, I've only given it three car washes, which probably did more harm than good since now the car has scratches that I never noticed before. At first, I tried to rinse, soap, and rinse the whole car in one go, but that left water spots all over. On my third and most recent try, I've decided to wash the car in sections (roof of car, boot, left side, front side, hood), and dry each section right after I soap and rinse. It takes a while, but the water spots went away.

The way I soap the car is in a circular pattern covering about a square foot, and that's the way I dry it too.

For the wash, I used Turtle ICE car wash soap, and went over it with microfiber towels. I also used a microfiber sponge to soap the car with.

On my third and last car wash, I tried waxing the car with Mother's Cleaner Wax, which looked great and caused noticable rain beading the very next day. Even though I tried buffing it as well as I could, I noticed that in direct sunlight, swirls could be seen (presumably from the wax), and when the temperature dropped at night, causing the car to condense, you could see circular patterns around the paint.

My main question is this: