Is300 01 Oil Leak Problem

smile_apj

Hello All

I am new to Lexus world and this is my first car Lexus IS300 2001 model. I bought this car just a week ago on 27th of Aug 2008.

During long weekend (on labour day 2008) I was planning to go to Ohio from Boston (almost 640 miles). Before leaving I did a quick check. Then, I got the OIL change (semi-synthetic one) and battery replacement from local SHALL dealer on Wednesday. However, that turned out to be real problem.

I started from Boston around 7.30 AM on Friday, after running 400 miles, with 2 quick breaks in between, I saw engine oil light was coming ON, again and again.

I took an exit on RT-90W and checked up with some local gas station guy. He did a quick check and for my surprise, there was no engine oil in engine :( I was surprised where did oil go?

He asked me to put some oil and I put 3 Qt of synthetic oil (5w-30) from that GAS station. I checked the engine oil and it was up to the mark now.

Car ran perfectly and I reached OH safely. Next day I had to start to Pittsburgh and the same prob again I bought few qt of oil and put the engine oil again.

I did the same thing again and again on almost every 200 to 250 miles until I reached to boston.

My problem is where this oil is going? I don't see it dripping down on the ground? Is it a problem with SHALL dealer who did the oil change and left somethign open? or this could be some other issue?

I am very new to the cars and don't know much things :( Car just has 75K miles on it. Other than this car almost runs pretty good.

Any help/advice will be greatly appreciated.

Regards

ash

If you can't find a leak is there smoke coming from the exhaust?

Thanks for the quick reply Sir.

This car has after market bigger exhaust system, which kinda makes more noise than the regular stock one.

I am sure it throws more smoke than the regular one but not very sure if its visible in the air.