Cel ... P0171, P1153

Nenad

Hi everyone,

I would like to share my CEL experience here. Someone might find it useful, and also I would like to hear experts' opinion.

'99 RX300, 150K miles

The other day my CEL went on and I noticed the engine started running not so smooth. With further driving I noticed the engine starts trembleing, shuddering, when trying to go over 45-50mph, it shakes really bad, loosing power. Bad fumes (smell) at the exhaust and black smoke; actually not really black smoke, but it leaves the black mark on the concrete when parked in one place for a couple of minutes.

AutoZone pulled the codes for me, and it was P0171, P1153 and P0136 .

I read a lot of threads on this forum, and found that first and easiest thing to try is to clean the MAF sensor. I did that, using CRC spray. Unfortunately that didn't help.

Since I am not very experienced with car repairs, I thought it would cost me much more to start replacing the suspicious parts one by one, not really knowing which one is faulty. Also I really don't have the means and tools (and knowledge, I have to admit) to replace those hard to reach parts. Anything beyond the MAF and that easy accessible sensor (excuse my ignorance, I don't know which bank it is, but I'm talking about the one in front of the engine, little bit to the right - is it bank2 O2 or A/F ratio sensor ?)... I couldn't do it myself, so I decided to take it to the mechanic.

His diagnose is : replacing 6 plugs and one O2 sensor. I don't know which one right now, I'll ask about details when I go and pick up my car.

He quoted me $590 total. The parts (original, as he claims) are $340.

I would like to hear from you, for example, is it common for plugs and O2 sensor to fail at the same time? Basically, am I getting ripped off?