How Do I Set The Timing?

RLis300

I took my car to AutoZone (Its cheap) to check out a CEL. It said I had a timing issue and to replace the camshaft sensor was probably bad. I'm a Turbo Honda Builder so this is my first Toyota..:)

Anywho...I replaced the sensor which was hell but I found out how to do it..haha. Reset the engine light and everything. Drove the car and it came back on :angry: I had it checked again and at my friends import shop in town. SAME THING AGAIN. So my thing its what's wrong? Maybe timing? If so How do I set it....like a "how to" also I heard there's a crankshaft sesnor as well. What do you think....

Smooth feel free to hand over some knowledge please. lol B)

Hmm, it's hard to diagnose over the site like this. You may be stuck in the fail safe mode and your timing would be fixed at 5 degrees. Ignition timing advance for cylinder #1 should be -64 dgrees, max -63.5. Idling BTDC 6-16 degrees. A cel will come up if there is a difference of more than 5 degrees than target. Also, the Vvt system uses the oil controller valve and the Vvt system controller that all run on the same duty cycle. So you may want to look at the oil control valve as that regulates the oil pressure sent to the Vvt controller.

It would help to know what the dtc codes you were getting are specifically. Maybe have your friend at the import tuner shop do a freeze frame data read to see what's really going on.

Are you misfiring? How does the car run?