Installation Of A A/c Condenser

ins0mnia

Does anybody have a write-up on how to remove and install a new condenser? Mine went bad and I ordered a new one and want to save the money of labor and do it myself. I'm pretty sure I have all the tools I just don't know how to do it. It seems like it might come off without having to remove the bumper but that's where the coolant reservoir sits ontop of it and I don't want to screw anything up.

I have a 2002 IS300 btw...

I'm not a mechanic but I've done it myself on my 01 IS300. You don't have to remove the bumper but You'll have to remove the radiator first to get to the condenser, the coolant reservoir and fans are attached to the radiator so just leave them on the radiator. Make sure you remove all the hoses that attached to the radiator and wires for the fans. You will loose all the freon for the air conditioning so good luck..

Alright, when I look under the hood, there is a rectangular reservoir ontop of the condenser which has two rubber pipes coming out from it. If I do what you said then I'll have to remove the two pipes, but won't that make the coolant pour out? Does anybody have a diagram or a set of instructions on how to do this?

Does anybody have a write-up on how to remove and install a new condenser? Mine went bad and I ordered a new one and want to save the money of labor and do it myself. I'm pretty sure I have all the tools I just don't know how to do it. It seems like it might come off without having to remove the bumper but that's where the coolant reservoir sits ontop of it and I don't want to screw anything up.

I have a 2002 IS300 btw...

Okay, here are the steps you'll need to replace the condenser. If your good with all of it, then ok.

1- You'll have to discharge the system first.

2- you will need to evac the system before you refill it with refrigerant also, any moisture at all in the system and you'll be replacing it all again shortly.

3- You'll need to remove the air filter housing.