Does Size Matter?

I was wondering when a smaller size disc on your porter cable is necessary? Or if it is really necessary? I am just starting out with my 7424 and notice a 5inch and 6 inch plate i believe but after looking into it further I now see like 2 3/4 backing plates. What is the best size to have please? or sizes? :wacko: :cries: :unsure: ;) :whistles:

SIZE DOES MATTER-

Just ask any female detailer ;-)

Always use a smaller sized Velcro backing plate then the Velcro foam pad you are using (i.e. a 6-inch Velcro backing plate and a 6.5-inch Velcro foam pad) Never use a Velcro backing plate that is larger then the Velcro backed foam pad as the backing plate will damage / scratch the paintwork.

Edited by TOGWT

SIZE DOES MATTER-

Just ask any female detailer ;-)

Always use a smaller sized Velcro backing plate then the Velcro foam pad you are using (i.e. a 6-inch Velcro backing plate and a 6.5-inch Velcro foam pad) Never use a Velcro backing plate that is larger then the Velcro backed foam pad as the backing plate will damage / scratch the paintwork.

That part I understand TOGWT,but I am seeing 2 3/4 inch backing plates and wondering when or if I will need this size? I have been looking at the 5 " backing plate with the 6 1/2" pads but now I am wondering how many sizes do backing plates come in and what is really needed? I just want to buy the right items to do the best job.:cheers:

Foam pads (Lake County Mfg) are available in various sizes from 3.5 – 8.0-inch diameter, but I have found that for the application of a polish the optimum size of foam pad for whole panel (i.e. hood, trunk, fender, etc.) is 6 to 6.5- inches, with an effective pad contact diameter of 5.5 to 6.25- inches.

For the ‘spot-repair’ of blemishes on a specific blemish or paint defect, I prefer working with a 4- inch pad. This pad size allows me to focus on just the problem area and not affect the surrounding paint.

~Hope this helps~