My 91 Ls400 Profile

Kennyr

I'm a new member to this site and thought I would introduce myself and car to the club. I am a retired Volvo mechanic with a 91 LS400, 145k Silver, no heated seats or trax. I bought it 5 years ago with 82k on it. It was a perfect dealer maintained one owner vehicle. Today it looks like the day I bought it. I do all my own work. Here's a list of the things I've repaired if 5 years. Brakes and 4 rotors twice. The Rotors are junk on these cars and don't last. I'm told 93's have bigger brakes. Drivers door handle, 4 shocks, swaybar bushings, antenna mast, throttle position sensor, a/c conversion to R134, new pr. window and door lock master switchpack in drivers door (the door lockout switches break), Motor mount and trans mount, plugs, caps and rotors, wires, t belt, idlers and tensioner, water pump and thermostat, serp belt, climate head unit (of course). I flush the complete tranny at least every 20k and change the oil every 3k. I have also added sheepskins since the 91 seats arn't that great. I have installed an aftermarket remote entry system that beeps when you lock and unlock the doors. The range is great also (not like the original button on the key). XM radio is my latest add on. Its a Roady unit mounted right by the shifter. I have also dropped the headliner and tightened the sunroof bolts to cure the nasty creaking noise from above. A Lexus tech gave me that advise. These are the things I can remember right now but I'm sure there are many more. Anyway it's a great car and I love driving it anywhere. Denver to Vegas and on to Santa Monica several times. 25 MPG on the road and 18 in town.

;)