Sc300 Vs Sc400 - Which Is Better Car?

Dean W

Yes, I am a newbie, and I have read the FAQ and used the search function and read several posts. I am looking to purchase my 1st SC and I was wondering if one model was better than another or there was a particular year to be wary of?

Is the SC400 a better car than the SC300 or just more powerful? Besides the engine, are there any other differences in the same year SC?

My daily commute is 130 miles. I'm not looking for a hotrod. Just a nice, reliable car. I restore motorcycles as my hobby, so I plan on performing most if not all of the maintenance myself. Based on my intended usuage, which car would be better? Is there much difference in the gas mileage? According to the ratings there isn't.

I have located a 93 SC400 with 93K miles on it. The owner has some service records. The timing belt, water pump, etc were replaced at 75K miles. Anything in particular that I should look for?

What other services should I look for that have been completed in a used SC?

Thanks in advance. Dean

if your not going to mod it then go with a 400. (thats if you want an auto) the 400 is more of a cruiser it has more bottom end torque which makes it easier to drive under normal conditions. and i dont really like the 300 auto trans. its kind of too shifty. take both out for a drive and see what you think ;)

I just love the more refined and silky feel of the SC400. Up until 98' the brakes on the SC400 were bigger. I might go for an SC300 if it were a stick shift. The 300 definately has more engine compartment room to easily add mods. I'd go with the SC400. I love mine as a road trip cruiser so for your application it seems great. And... at 150mph you can sure put a dent in that commute...lol :D