Am I Hurting My Car

LEXIE

I would really like to get a simplified answer with some technical backing regarding the choice of octane level I am presently using in my '93SC400.

Several months ago a reputable car analyst, Bobby Likis, who has a national talk

show said that if you are not a performance bug you can use a lower octane

gas w/o harming your car.

I have since gone from full bore 93 oct to 87 and have not seen any loss of

performance even when I press the car. I am a predominately town driver and

rarely get my rpm's above 2000.

I hear comments like if you can afford a Lexus then why worry about the extra

cost to go high oct or, the Lexus people highly recommend max oct level for

max performance..sure what else could they say.. and your car has an automatic

sensor to adjust timing to oct level curently being used(i like that that little deal)

so thats why you dont hear pinging when you "push" it. Neat design feature.

Well, because I worried about a penny here and a penny there made it possible

for me to own the Lexus I have today so yes my nature says 20 cents per gallon

is important especially when I see not one sign of deterioraton in my old- man

style of driving.

And yes, if being purist in nature and going strictly by what the Lexus manual says

makes you feel more confident well I can understand that issue.

Other than opinion, can someone confidently say that I am going to carbonize my engine, screw my valves up, overload the system, etc.. by using lower octane or is it just a subtle loss in performance, which I don't really care about, when using lower oct gas.

L

I would really like to get a simplified answer with some technical backing regarding the choice of octane level I am presently using in my '93SC400.

Several months ago a reputable car analyst, Bobby Likis, who has a national talk

show said that if you are not a performance bug you can use a lower octane

gas w/o harming your car.