Replacing A Rear Bearing Hub Assembly On A 2004 Lexus Rx330

nelks

I put together this to help anyone trying to do this on their own. I just got done replacing my left rear bearing assembly on my 2004 RX330. I make the assumption if you are doing this you can at least take off your tire, caliper and rotor. I am not a mechanic by trade, but can do many of my own repairs. Some of the names of the parts I refer to may not be exact, but I will describe them as best as I can. I had some tips on this from my buddy, who is a former Lexus master mechanic. So props to Ron for the help! Some tools I would recommend having before you start:

1. 32mm 12 point deep well socket

2. Ball peen hammer

3. Large heavy hammer, such as a 3lb steel mallet.

4. A small chisel, strong flathead screwdriver or metal starter punch.

5. Hex head 8mm -- 1 25 x 50 mm bolt.

Here is the part I am replacing. The specific one I purchased was the Koyo W0133-1890398, which is an OEM part. I would recommend getting OEM parts if you can afford the cost difference.

Update: For all who have asked, the vehicle used in this tutorial is AWD (All Wheel Drive).

http://www.partsgeek.com/catalog/2004/lexus/rx330/driveshaft_-ar-_axle/wheel_hub_assembly.html

First, take off the tire.

post-20038-0-64533300-1303695992_thumb.j

post-20038-0-08671200-1303696006_thumb.j

Remove the two bolts holding down the brake pads to the caliper.

post-20038-0-70382100-1303696023_thumb.j

Next, remove the two bolts holding the caliper to the rotor.

post-20038-0-17405700-1303696034_thumb.j

Now pull off and remove the rotor. If the rotor won't budge and you can't pull it off, you can screw the hex head 8mm -- 1 25 x 50 mm bolt into the front of the rotor in one of the the two holes pictured below. As you screw it in, the rotor will push against the assembly pushing off the rotor.

post-20038-0-81249500-1303696301_thumb.j