Renoir911
Aug 29 2009, 10:01 PM
Hi.
I don't know where to post this and it is important especially for folks selling and buying from this Lexus website.
Today I received one of those nigerian letters requesting information about my credit card. The "spammer" was trying to buy a Lexus wheel jack from me but first needed to know the name on my credit card. I had placed a message here about a faulty RX300 jack and received responses. Someone is obviously looking over these posts and emailing others requesting very personal info. I've forwarded that email with the full headers to "abuse@gmail" and also to another internet police site to deal with that spammer. He had my email adress, and got the rest of the info from here. All he needed was my credit card info!
I'm posting this here to warn everyone about what has happened to me so that you can be on your toes especially if you are looking to buy something here. Be very careful who you respond to before making the transction.
Kind regards to ll.
R. May
denslexusgx470
Aug 30 2009, 01:22 AM
Thanks Renoir911. Hence this just shows why we make the Buy and Sell forums a little strict because of spammers in today's world. If anyone feels or senses any spammers, feel free to message myself or any of the moderators or administrators here on LOC and we will handle it from there. Thank You
Denslexusgx470
LOC Moderator
Renoir911
Aug 30 2009, 03:24 PM
Actually, I'll post the email I received and the full headers. If you can do something about it, great. You may delete this if I unknowingly brake a rule by posting this.
Now remember, I had asked questions on Lexus car jacks and someone had responded with going with bottle jacks as they are superior. This is theonly site where I discussed this, SO I know the spammer was here recently.
Thanks.
Renoir.
-------------------------------------------------------------
Dear Sir/Madam,
I'm Mr Paul Smith and I would like to Order some Bottle Jack.. I want to know the types that you carry in stock as well as the price ranges for me to advice the quantity I desire. however I want this units to be shipped to Ghana West Africa and I want to know the types of credit card you admit for payment. Thank You and waiting for your prompt reply.
Best Regard
Paul
From Paul Smith Sat Aug 29 10:13:22 2009
X-Apparently-To: renoir911@yahoo.ca via 68.142.236.187; Sat, 29 Aug 2009 03:13:34 -0700
Return-Path: <pls.smith1@gmail.com>
X-YMailISG: ImlkiKoWLDs3w9X3opFkUU89l9Ni8Z1jULGidnzw2bp66.9N4jkTaxOcUuJCXsNM9KzjhHz6HR2BvRdU
hq0JQt7gDvel8drGiTbSZFQnfDoXhGsgd65gPrzCVCbh2ByguqI0tQV61cR9hHXIWM.vVyf3jfLAGnywP
v0r9lHz4P90kD6PtoyB3vYdDgnLvC7gZPjo6dkm6GP9jc..YlDqRqsNkNbfqUKNdyQKv5LhPgbfPVMJd_
VWq6Sr5degKLHAR3k7Yjl0XRK7AWnld0Vd0jG2G1YFdH.7KWtUtvmJXJytbec793cZMEgVqyn0WaCGEfk
VgGuOris5uoA8ENJ_Mm5OCgSJ4C74G2dDMHW4BaUQdIWRmFL5bLuUfOI1od5muQcNnr0hkgvgPCz3I136
oHAdVT1jXJyX9kovphYhtB0CnsOumcQ5NCDfD0BuflhrdyJjqw3tPg--
X-Originating-IP: [209.85.211.190]
Authentication-Results: mta108.mail.ac4.yahoo.com from=gmail.com; domainkeys=pass (ok); from=gmail.com; dkim=pass (ok)
Received: from 127.0.0.1 (EHLO mail-yw0-f190.google.com) (209.85.211.190)
by mta108.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with SMTP; Sat, 29 Aug 2009 03:13:34 -0700
Received: by ywh28 with SMTP id 28so210164ywh.15
for <renoir911@yahoo.ca>; Sat, 29 Aug 2009 03:13:30 -0700 (PDT)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed;
d=gmail.com; s=gamma;
h=domainkey-signature:mime-version:received:date:message-id:subject
:from:to:content-type;
bh=cxhfIWI0gQhQyCsyAuG6ql7ZmIN2Oq+6P8af/y2bI3Y=;
b=BkqhagirzOwoyCBMd2gS+uovMs1hg9UUSh3QPhx+Ns+KEs+9bS3roOjDXRO+aq2yFH
cDYAb4Famh/RRGVxqTOozIEju6DoSSEg45sqX+HuaJll6JzmjjyR9p0pYatv6tztV1Nh
LAEkA8edX+J1j3SlfwwnqQKn0PTdY8cSkJBoA=
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; c=nofws;
d=gmail.com; s=gamma;
h=mime-version:date:message-id:subject:from:to:content-type;
b=O1zNuKKZKaWmlf3pEZaLOnN9ohrm6Svo1yS7oji0UDTILFHg90CDhY9t0kyMw9LiOI
TS0O4nDW2uqsqEQtgcJBotFro/FHniHJ1JUIzDqPn0JjErYHvjW/LGeoB4R1KO8zn3D+
/gpjmkxFqnAlijrg3H6qU37raMlUhAAjY2i7g=
MIME-Version: 1.0
Received: by 10.150.44.12 with SMTP id r12mr4045270ybr.2.1251540802572; Sat,
29 Aug 2009 03:13:22 -0700 (PDT)
Date: Sat, 29 Aug 2009 03:13:22 -0700
Message-ID: <8e2f20160908290313tf0e4bc5xad8d12e6939126f0@mail.gmail.com>
Subject: Order
From: Paul Smith <pls.smith1@gmail.com>
To: pls.smith1@gmail.com
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=000e0cd59be2f597e90472450cce
Content-Length: 1347
nc211
Aug 31 2009, 08:28 AM
What, no "I have your inheritance, waiting for instructions on what account number wire to it for me of payment"? No "I bottle sell jack of quality card credit required"? I love the english these idiots use!
Renoir911
Aug 31 2009, 06:45 PM
Yes, one has to wonder who they really are!
I forward all these nigerian type emails to the "abuse@" providers and they deal with them by canceling their email priviledges. They just resurface the same day under a new name. Another place I forward these to is "wafl@phonebusters.com" It is a Canadian internet police website that goes after these guys.
Anyway, you have a great day.
R. May
SW03ES
Sep 2 2009, 07:50 AM
A buddy of mine and I were saying that someone should sell these spammers english lessons. With proper english a lot of this stuff would be very convincing...
denslexusgx470
Sep 2 2009, 11:53 PM
QUOTE (SW03ES @ Sep 2 2009, 06:50 AM)

A buddy of mine and I were saying that someone should sell these spammers english lessons. With proper english a lot of this stuff would be very convincing...
I agree! Lately I've been getting emails from "Bank of America" saying that my account has been hacked or something and it looks really legit but then the FROM email address is something like xxx@xxxx.com so I instantly deleted it before moving on.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.