Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Manheim? Is It Legit?
Lexus Owners Club (USA & Canada) > General Lexus Forums > Dealers & Pricing Forums
juin21
Hi!

I'm new to this site and had a few questions...

I went to a used car dealership to get a 2006 is250. Strangely enough he seemed really honest... It was strange cause I showed up, he took a copy of my drivers license, threw me the keys and said check it out, I'll be here. I walked out to the car thinking he would follow me, but he didn't. I went back and said....uhm you coming and he said nope, you'll be fine on your own!!!

After I drove the car and checked everything, i came in and said, i'm not paying your price. He said fine, i hate to haggle.....

He then went and started showing me how much he paid for the car, the check he wrote out (said i could look at his quickbooks) for the car and brought up the kelly blue book online. Ofcourse I told him, well all these documents could be fabricated. But the most amazing thing, IF ITS LEGIT, was that he showed me the website, www.manheim.com and said these are the real prices used car dealers are paying for the car and this is how he decides on the bottom price he can give. Is the manheim site legit??? Cause the prices for the car was way below the invoice sheet i got from

http://us.lexusownersclub.com/forums/index...showtopic=34315

Is MANHEIM auctions where the dealers actually bid for the cars they sell, if so I might have found one of the most honest car dealers biggrin.gif
bartkat
It's probably for real. Auto auctions publish the actual selling prices of cars and distribute the list to dealers.

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0FJ...v32/ai_21024063
juin21
THANKS!!! I'll keep you guys updated on my is 250 buying experience =)
juin21
OMG!!! just picked up an is 350 for a great price. I'm part of the club now!!!
anthonyiez
yep, totally legit. they are the largest auto auction company in the us. the place i buy ALL my vehicles from (personal and business) buy from there.
jewel
PM me if you can...I did a search...couldn't quite figure out what the 06 IS 250 (AWD or even RWD) is going for at these auctions. huh.gif

QUOTE(juin21 @ Feb 11 2007, 10:00 PM) [snapback]227102[/snapback]

OMG!!! just picked up an is 350 for a great price. I'm part of the club now!!!

dallison
dealers use the manheim auction for trade in pricing. it is a pain in the ass for me since it is a few miles away
dallison
and too bad normal folks can't see what these cars are going for
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.